2022 Election Results

Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences Announces New Board Members

Contact: Carolyn Anthon 

Office: (202) 503-4638 

May 26, 2022

For immediate release

Baltimore, MD — The Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences (AESS) is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s elections. The candidates below were selected by their peers earlier this month, with the results certified by the AESS Elections committee. 

President-Elect: Karin Warren 

Board Treasurer: Dave Hassenzahl

Board at-large: Katherine Hasnain, Theresa Selfa, Zipangani Vokhiwa

Nominations Committee: Christine Kirchhoff, Brieanne Berry, Christina Downs (Student)

The new members come from wide ranging backgrounds including a natural scientist, a former livestock officer and an archeology technician. We have individuals joining us from across the entire United States, from Maine and Florida all the way to California. The newly elected board, some who have served on the board previously, expressed honor and gratitude at serving AESS in their new positions. 

“I’m excited and grateful for the opportunity to serve as President-Elect with AESS President Kat Owens and continuing and new AESS Board members,” said Karin Warren. “I respect the potential and power of shared vision and collaborative leadership and look forward to helping to increase participation and engagement in our organization and inclusion of a diversity of perspectives and experiences.”

Brieanne Berry, whose research focuses on systems of production/consumption/disposal, said, “I’m so thrilled to join AESS in this capacity and look forward to strengthening and growing this vibrant organization!”

Dave Hassenzahl brings a wealth of experience to the AESS board as he previously served as president and secretary and he is also one of the founding members of AESS. In his new role as treasurer, he plans “to continue the good work of the outgoing treasurer by maintaining transparent, sustainable, and orderly finances.” 

The newly elected will officially take office following the close of the annual AESS conference, which is being held in Baltimore from June 20-22. 

Thank you to the Nominations Committee, chaired by Erin Burkett, who is responsible for recruiting and nominating candidates for elective offices. Learn more about AESS Committees. If you wish to serve on a committee, email All AESS members are welcome to serve!

The Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences is a scholarly and professional organization that promotes interdisciplinary research, teaching and service for faculty and students in the more than 1,000 Environmental academic programs nationwide and beyond.  

To find out more about the elected, visit AESS’s election page.

Board President Elect

Karin Warren

Herzog Family Chair of Environmental Studies & Science, Randolph College

Board Treasurer

Dave Hassenzahl

Dean of the College of Natural Sciences, California State University, Chico

Board At-Large

Katherine Hasnain

MSc student in Environmental Policy at the London School of Economics, and 2022 Yale Environmental Fellow

Theresa Selfa

Professor and Chair of the Department of Environmental Studies, SUNY-ESF

Zipangani Vokhiwa

Professor of Science, Mercer University

Nominations Committee

Christine Kirchhoff

 Associate Professor in Civil and Environmental   Engineering, University of Connecticut

Brieanne Berry

Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies, Ursinus College

Christina Downs

MA graduate Interdisciplinary Studies major with Anthropology and Environmental Sustainability concentrations, University of Central Florida