2021 Election Results

Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences Announces New Board Members

BALTIMORE, Maryland (June 14, 2021) — The Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences (AESS) has announced the results of its 2021 Board of Directors election, naming a new secretary, three at-large Board members, and three nominations committee members.

Incoming Board Secretary:

Valerie Rountree, Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies at the University of Redlands, has served as the AESS Conference Program Chair for multiple years and remains an engaged Membership Committee member.

Newly elected at-large Board members include:

Clara Fang, PhD candidate in environmental studies at Antioch University New England;

Lissy Goralnik, faculty member at Michigan State University in the department of community sustainability; and

David Murphy, Associate Professor and Chair of Environmental Studies at St Lawrence University.

New members of the nominations committee include:

Nurcan Atalan-Helicke, Program Director and Associate Professor at Skidmore College;

Sharon Locke, Professor and Director of the STEM Center at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville; and

Sailaja Nandigama, Assistant Professor at Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani, Rajasthan Campus, India.

The newly elected will officially take office following the close of the annual AESS conference, which is being held virtually, June 28 – July 1.

To find out more about the elected, visit AESS’s election page.

Board Secretary

Valerie Rountree

Assistant Professor Environmental Studies
University of Redlands

Board At-Large

Clara Fang

PhD Candidate, Environmental Studies

Lissy Goralnik

Assistant Professor, Department of Community Sustainability

Michigan State University

David Murphy

Chair and Associate Professor of Environmental Studies
St. Lawrence University

Nominations Committee

Nurcan Atalan-Helicke, Ph.D

Associate Professor & Director
Environmental Studies and Sciences Program
Skidmore College

Sharon Locke

Professor of Environmental Sciences and Director of the Center for STEM Research, Education, and Outreach

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Dr. Sailaja Nandigama

Assistant Professor (PhD in Development Studies from ISS, the Netherlands)
Department of Humanities and Social Sciences
Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani
Rajasthan, India
Office: 6168 M, Ext:5700
Social Media/Webpages:


Read more

2020 Election Results

AESS is excited to announce the results of the 2020 elections. To read more about the elected, visit the election page.

Katharine Owens – AESS President Elect

University of Hartford, Associate Professor in the Department of Politics, Economics, and International Studies and Director of the University Interdisciplinary Studies program


Diamond Holloman – Board Student

Doctoral Candidate at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Erin Pischke – Board at-large

research associate at the University of Oregon


Karin Warren – Board at-large Herzog Family Chair of Environmental Studies & Science Sustainability Council Co-Chair Randolph College LinkedIn

Mary Collins – Nominations Committee Assistant Professor SUNY-Environmental Sciences and Forestry LinkedIn

Devin Judge-Lord – Nominations Committee

PhD Student in Political Science at University of Wisconsin-Madison


Marc Santos – Nominations Committee University of South Florida LinkedIn
Read more

2019 Election Results

AESS is excited to announce the results of the 2019 elections. To read more about the elected, visit the election page. Newly elected officially take office following the close of the annual AESS conference.

Richard S. Groover
Reynolds Community College, Richmond VA

AESS Treasurer

Groover is the environmental committee chairperson, a Fellow of the Academy, and former treasurer of the Academy Board of Trustee member of the Science Museum of Virginia. Author of The Environmental Almanac of Virginia, second edition Member of the Governor’s Climate Commission (2014-2015). Founder of the Virginia Roundtable of Environmental Science Professors.

Laureen Elgert

Laureen Elgert
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

AESS Board Member

Lissy Goralnik
Michigan State University
Department of Community Sustainability

AESS Board Member

Abby Lindsay Ostovar American University

AESS Board Member

LinkedIn Profile

Nirajan Dhakal
Assistant Professor of Environmental and Health Sciences Program
Spelman College

Nominations Committee

LinkedIn Profile

Sharon Moran
SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry

Nominations Committee

William San Martin
Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Department of Humanities & Arts

Nominations Committee

LinkedIn Profile

Read more