2024 Election Results

Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences Announces New Board Members

Contact: Carolyn Anthon 

Office: (202) 503-4638 

June 17, 2024

For immediate release

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences (AESS) is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s elections. The candidates below were selected by their peers earlier this month, with the results certified by the AESS Elections committee. 

President-Elect: Dave Murphy 

Secretary: Brieanne Berry

Board at-large: Fateh Bindra (student), Paul Jorgensen, Katharine Owens

Nominations Committee: Emily Azevedo-Casey (student), Patricia DeMarco, Ben Ndayambaje

The candidates come from wide ranging backgrounds including a global health leader, a water quality policy researcher, an energy and environmental policy analyst and a social scientist. We have individuals joining us from across the United States and abroad, from north eastern states to Wisconsin and down to the Rio Grande region of Texas as well as international representation in Singapore. The newly elected board, some who have served on the board previously, expressed honor and gratitude at serving AESS in their new positions. 

“I am committed to fostering an inclusive community that welcomes and values diverse perspectives, understanding that our efforts to address environmental challenges are enriched by a multitude of voices,” Dave Murphy said. Murphy also expresses a deep appreciation for the AESS community’s positivity, and plans to devote particular effort into outreach and membership growth.

Emily Azevedo-Casey is a PhD student at UW-Madison’s Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies and brings prior non-profit board experience along with a track record recruiting speakers and panelists and designing events. She identifies as a nontraditional student and shares “it would be my priority to build an election slate [for 2025] that reflects the diversity of both the AESS community and the environmental studies and science fields.”

Paul Jorgensen brings experience working in a region experiencing environmental injustice. He expresses an appreciation for AESS and opportunities for interdisciplinary professionals to collaborate. “I would like to work at continuing the justice-oriented mission of AESS so that the organization is inclusive and inviting for all who are actively working to promote sustainable living.” Jorgensen also plans to continue serving on the conference and membership committees.

Kat Owens embodies interdisciplinary studies through her work in science, policy and the arts. She is well-known in the AESS community for her group sewing sessions where participants actively divert plastic film from oceans by creating life-sized portraits of animals harmed by plastic pollution. “AESS is my primary professional group and I truly appreciate the interdisciplinary approach and welcoming atmosphere,” said Owens. Owens has previously served on the Board and looks forward to continuing efforts to amplify the voices and works of diverse members.

The newly elected will officially take office following the close of the annual AESS conference, which is being held virtually June 20-21. To find out more about the elected, visit AESS’s election page

Thank you to the Nominations Committee, who is responsible for recruiting and nominating candidates for elective offices. Learn more about AESS Committees. If you wish to serve on a committee, email All AESS members are welcome to serve!

The Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences is a scholarly and professional organization that promotes interdisciplinary research, teaching and service for faculty and students in the more than 1,000 Environmental academic programs nationwide and beyond.